CMRC Match Race Championship : 11 teams to race for 71st Richardson Trophy

Friday, 08 October 2010

Worldʼs second oldest match race challenge trophy to be contested over October 8-10th at Chicago Match Race Center

Eleven teams from six member clubs of the Yacht Racing Union of the Great Lakes (YRUGL) will converge tomorrow through October 10th at the Chicago Match Race Center (CMRC) for the annual match race challenge for the Richardson Trophy. This trophy was established in 1912 by Commodore S. O. Richardson, Jr., of the Toledo Yacht Club, who donated a Tiffany silver trophy to encourage match sail yacht racing between substantial yachts representing various of the Great Lakes. This yearʼs event will be the 71st competition since 1912, held annually in post-war years since 1951.

“We are pleased to host the competition for this prestigious trophy to support regional match race sailing in the Great Lakes,” said Bill Hardesty, Director of CMRC. “It's a great complement to the numerous other international match race events we have at CMRC.”

Each year the Richardson Trophy is contested for by teams of sailors representing member clubs of YRUGL. Any yacht club and its representative member is eligible to send a team if the yacht club is a member in good standing with any one of the six the Richardson Trophy, and are as follows: the Lake Superior Yachting Association, Lake Huron Yachting Association, Lake Michigan Sailing Federation, Detroit Regional Yacht-racing Association, Inter-Lake Yachting Association and Lake Yacht Racing Association.

Competing skippers in this yearʼs championship are as follows: three skippers from Bayview YC in Detroit: Chris VanTol, James Denner, and Kent Colpaert; Peter Wickwire of the Royal Canadian YC; Magnus Sandburg of the National YC; Josh Kerst of North Cape YC; and five skippers from CMRC: Don Wilson; Jennifer Wilson; Steven Lowery; Chris Wurtz and Sam Sonsome.

VanTol is the defending champion, having won last yearʼs Richardson Trophy at the Wayzata YC in J/22ʼs. Competition this year will be held in the CMRCʼs equally-matched TOM 28 Max keelboats, and skippers at this yearʼs event will get ISAF Open Grade 3 match race points for their position on the official Open World Ranking List.

Teams are invited to practice on Thursday afternoon, October 7th, and racing will be held from Friday morning, October 8th, through Sunday afternoon, October 10th. The competition will be in two stages: Stage One consists of Round Robin competition, and Stage Two will be Semi-Finals, Finals and Petit Finals.

The Regatta Chairman will be CMRCʼs Mary Anne Ward, the Principal Race Officer will be Jarod Silverman, and the Chief Umpire will be David Pelling.

Shoreside activities on the lakefront including competitor briefings, press conferences, umpire debriefs and awards ceremonies will be held before and after racing in and around the CMRC floating regatta center moored at the North end of Belmont Harbor.

Live commentary will be provided by Geordie Shaver, and live video coverage will be available on the CMRC website.

Official Partners of the CMRC include CME Group and the City Inns family of hotels, and NYSE LIFFE is CMRC’s official Boat Sponsor and Line Honors is the Official Clothing Supplier to CMRC.

Beth Paul

See Match Racing images:

Last Updated ( Friday, 08 October 2010 )