Home > Yacht Racing - regattas > Palmavela regatta
Click to view full size image
Gaastra PalmaVela 2015 crowns the first champions of the season
Today saw the twelfth edition of the Gaastra PalmaVela Regatta draw to its close. A fleet of 140 boats and 16 nationalities enjoyed a full programme of racing out on the Bay of Palma, which confirmed its reputation with favourable racing conditions throughout the four days of the championship. The 16 participating classes had to wait until the very last day to confirm the first champions of the Mediterranean regatta season.

Palma de Mallorca, 3th May 2015

The first main event on the Mediterranean regatta calendar came to an end with a day of light breezes, but sufficient to hold races for all 16 participating classes. Three boats managed to defend their 2014 titles.

The winners of the Gaastra PalmaVela 2015 are: Open Season (Wally), Momo (Maxi 72), Azzurra (TP52), Grupo Clínico Dr. Luis Senís (IRC), Airis (ORC 0), Fyord (ORC 1), Pinyol Vermell (ORC 2), La Sirena I (ORC 3), Fehurihi (ORC 4), Bribon Movistar (J80), Flyinghigh (Flying Fifteen), Lazy Daisy (Dragon), Moonbeam IV (Traditional/Classic), Fundación Damm (2.4), CVP Andratx 2 (Hansa 303 Individual) and RCNP/Fundación Handisport 1 (Hansa 303 Double).

Wally: Open Season
The Wallys went out on the water with three boats drawn even at the top of the leaderboard, and a programme of two windward/leeward races to decide the class champion for the first event on the international circuit. Conditions only allowed for one race, and victory was claimed by Magic Carpet 3 ahead of Open Season and Tango G. After the five races of the week, two coastal races and three windward/leewards, the final victory went to the Wally 107 Thomas Bscher's Open Season, skippered by Mike Atkinson, who very closely beat the 2014 winners, Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones’ Magic Carpet 3, and was just two points ahead of Claus-Peter Offen’s Y3K.

Maxi 72: Momo
In the Maxi 72, it was a very close triumph in the final race for Sir Peter Ogden’s Jethou, 13 seconds ahead of Alexander Shaerer’s Caol Ila R. However, Dieter Schon’s Momo only needed a third to claim the final victory with the bare minimum over Jethou after five races. Third place went to Caol Ila R.

TP52: Azzurra
Classification in the TP52 class was decided in the very last race of the championship. Azzurra started the day drawn even with the leaders Quantum Racing, who they needed to beat to aspire to victory. And thus was the case for Alberto Roemmers’s boat with an absolutely perfect race, clocking up their third consecutive victory to claim the first title of the season on their recently christened TP52 designed by Botín. Dalton DeVos' Quantum Racing finished second overall after scoring three in the final race. Third place went to Dean Barker’s Interlodge.

IRC: Grupo Clínico Dr. Luis Senís
The IRC competed in a total of six races. The Russian Swan 60, Rui Macedo's Petite Flame claimed the last race of the championship, but absolute victory went to the GS46 Grupo Clínico Dr. Luis Senís skippered by Axel Rodger, who won four races and ruled out today’s fourth place as their worst result this week. Second place went to Andrés Varela’s Bultaco.

ORC: Four races
The five ORC classes closed the championship with four races: three windward/leewards and a coastal race.

In ORC 0, Cesare Bressan’s Airis swept their third victory of the week today to finish as overall winners. The Italian TP52 finished with a four-point advantage over the German Swan 45 Elena Nova, and six ahead of the British Swan 42 CS Long Echo.

In ORC 1, José Luis Maldonado’s Fyord gave their rivals no options. The X-35 from Castellón won the four races of the competition to claim the title with a four-point advantage over Airlan Aermec, and five ahead of Zas Sailing.

In ORC 2, it was a great day for Felix Comas’ Pinyol Vermell, who won the final race and defended their 2014 title. Second place overall for Presto, just one point behind them, and four ahead of Xalest.

In ORC 3, the title went to Alejandro Riera’s La Sirena I, which won the last race with a fifteen-second advantage over Sirpy, the boat which began the day as leaders and finished the championship in second place.

In ORC 4, an indisputable victory for Carlos Ros’ Fehurihi, who won all four races.

Monotypes: a full programme
Three races were held for the monotypes J80, Flying Fifteen and Dragon on the last day to complete the nine races programmed for the week.

In J80, Mar de Antonio’s Bribon Movistar extended their advantage at the top of the leaderboard with two firsts and a second, thus defending their title with an imposing seven out of nine possible victories. Second place on the podium went to Nautica Watches (2-4-3 today) and third to HM-Hotels (6-2-1).

In Flying Fifteen, it was a final triumph for the leaders over the last three days. Patrick Harris’ Flyinghigh finished off a great week with a second and two firsts on the last day, sweeping the title with a six-point advantage over second placed Speedy Gonzales. Fine Fettle were third.

In Dragon class, Robin Hennessy’s Lazy Daisy, winner of the class in 2014, clearly dominated the 2015 edition with seven out of nine victories and two out of three today. They were accompanied on the podium by Young Tiger and Dino.

In the Traditional-Classic class a win for Moonbeam IV skippered by Mikael Creach. A first title for the spectacular 1929 cutter since it joined the RCNP fleet.

Adapted Sailing: Copa de España
The Copa de España for Adapted Sailing finished the week with a full day of competition: three races in the 2.4 class, two in Hansa 303 Double and two in Hansa 303 Individual.

In 2.4, Arturo Montes’ Fundación Damm claimed a magnificent victory as champions (2-1-1) with a four-point advantage over their immediate rivals.

In the Hansa 303 Double class the title went to the tandem Ángel Vega/Mari Carmen García on the RCNP/Fundación Handisport 1 who won both of the two races on the last day, and three out of four overall.

In the Hansa 303 Individual class, there was excitement down to the very last minute. The Copa de España finished with a draw which finally went in favour of Toni Ferra's CVP Andratx 2 ahead of his team mate Violeta del Reino, the winner in 2014.

A similar success on land
A full social programme at the Real Club Náutico de Palma was the perfect complement to the excitement out on the water. Every morning the participants enjoyed the breakfasts held in the Maxi Village and Club Village courtesy of Café Jurado and Family Fruit. Likewise, after racing the competitors were able to taste a selection of local products from Mallorca, accompanied by Heineken beer, Muga wine, and music by Pachá.


Photo : © MM Sailingshots/Gaastra PalmaVela
0053600d-5578-4aba-a377-c92a7ef17b58.jpg 953ae016-4494-488d-ace0-97a91822fe55.jpg 856c613d-ec5a-46f8-b835-a9c67159abf2.jpg 344e1137-c1ed-4bfd-8990-d1d800061839.jpg 256e169a-89bd-49d7-9989-fd4a4d5a201a.jpg