Home > Yacht Racing - Ocean & Coastal > Team SCA

SCA to Enter All-Female Team For Next Volvo Ocean Race - Past Female Entries in the Volvo Ocean Race
10 teams on the start line for the 12th edition of the race. The first of the boats will be finished in mid-2013.

The new design puts less of a premium on physical strength, and means all-female teams should be competitive in the race, which is one of sailing's Big Three events along with the America's Cup and the Olympics.The last time an all-female team competed in the race was in 2001-02, when Lisa Charles (now Lisa McDonald) skippered Amer Sports Too. The first all-female team to compete were Maiden, skippered by Tracy Edwards, back in 1989-90. The full list is as follows:

1989-90 Maiden/Tracy Edwards
1993-94 US Women's Challenge/Nance Franck, later Heineken/Dawn Riley
1997-98 EF Education/Christine Guilou
2001-02 Amer Sports Too Lisa Charles (now McDonald)

The last woman sailor in the race was Adrienne Cahalan, who was navigator on Brasil 1 for a single leg in 2005-06.
Credit : Volvo Ocean Race
VLOR_32237_385508.WMV SCAec13-RT0655.jpg VLOR_23329_251911.WMV _DSC5873_low.jpg _DSC5838_low.jpg